Elgeyo Marakwet County number 028 is located in the Rift Valley and borders West Pokot County to the North, Baringo County to the East, South East and South, Uasin Gishu County to the South West and West, and Trans Nzoia County to the North West.


According to the 2009 Kenya Population and Housing Census the population is 369,998 with a population density of 122 people per Km2 and an annual growth rate of 2.8%.  Age Distribution is; 0-14 years 46.4%, 15-64 years 49.6 %, 65+ years 4.0 %.


Its capital is Kapsowar Town.


It covers an area of 3,029.8Km2.


Temperatures range from a minimum of 140C to a maximum of 240C.  It experiences two rainy seasons with an average rainfall of 400mm per annum during the shorter rains to 1400mm per annum during the long rains.

Road network: 

Education and Literacy:

As at 2007, the County had 373 Primary schools with an enrolment of 110,399 pupils and a teacher to pupil ratio of 1: 36 and 75 Secondary schools with an enrolment of 20,887 pupils and a teacher to pupil ratio of 1:30.

Tertiary institutions in the county are include a Teachers Training College and 3 Youth Polytechnics.

Financial services:

5 Commercial Banks and 1 Micro-finance Institution  provide the people with financial services.   


Elgeyo Marakwet County has 113 health facilities with 2 District Hospitals, 5 Sub-District Hospital, 89 Dispensaries, 15 Health Centres, 1 Medical Clinic and one privately owned institution. Notable hospitals in the County are the Chebiemit and Iten District Hospitals.

The most prevalent diseases in the county are Malaria, Diarrhoea, Bronchopneumonia and respiratory tract infections, urinary tract infections.

Tourist attractions:

Tourist attractions include Kerio Valley National Reserve, Sports Tourism River Kerio, Rimoi national reserve, Torok waterfalls and the Cherang’any hills.


The main Economic activities include livestock and subsistence farming, fluorspar mining and small business. It is endowed with arable land, waters from River Kerio and  Fluorspar at Kimwarer.


With the adoption of the new constitution in 2010 which ushered in the devolved system of governance, the Governor is the Executive authority in the County together with his deputy, the Senator is to represent the County at the Senate and through affirmation of women and youth rights, the Woman Representative is to represent the County’s women and youth issues at the National Assembly.

GOVERNOR                                       :           ALEX TANUI TOLGOS

DEPUTY GOVERNOR                       :           WISLEY KIPYEGON ROTICH

SENATOR                                           :           KIPCHUMBA MURKOMEN



Elgeyo Marakwet County has four (4) constituencies divided into 20 electoral wards. Marakwet West and Keiyo South have six wards each while Marakwet East and Keiyo North have four wards each.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.