Garissa County number 007 is located in Eastern Kenya bordering Somalia to the East, Wajir County and Isiolo County to the North, Tana River County to the West and Lamu County to the South.


According to the 2009 Kenya Population and Housing Census the population is 623,060 with a male population of 334,939, a female population of 288,121 and a population density of 14 people per Km2. The County has 98,590 Households.


Garissa town is the administrative capital of the county.


It covers an area of 44,175Km2.


The County’s rainfall varies from 1,000 to 1,500mm in the highlands to 600mm per annum in the lowlands with temperatures ranging from a minimum of 10°C in the highlands to a maximum of 35°C in the low lying plains.

Road network:
Education and Literacy:

As at 2007, the County had 47 Primary schools and 9 Secondary schools.

Financial services:

Garissa County has 28 health facilities with 1 District Hospital, 17 Dispensaries, 4 Health Centres, 6 Medical Clinics and 3 nursing homes and one privately owned institution.

The Doctor to Population Ratio is  1:52,000.

Tourist attractions

These are The Giraffe Sanctuary and Arawale & Boni National Reserves. The Garissa animal market is also a popular attraction.


The main economic activities in the County are Livestock rearing predominantly through pastoralism, Bee-keeping, Sand Harvesting, irrigated farming and trading.

The County is endowed with natural resources such as livestock, rivers, pasture, wildlife, vast tracts of flat land, solar and wind energy, mineral resources and medicinal plants.


With the adoption of the new constitution in 2010 which ushered in the devolved system of governance, the Governor is the Executive authority in the County together with his deputy, the Senator is to represent the County at the Senate and through affirmation of women and youth rights, the Woman Representative is to represent the County’s women and youth issues at the National Assembly.

GOVERNOR                                       :           ALI BUNOW KORANE

DEPUTY GOVERNOR                       :           ABDI DAGANE MUHUMED

SENATOR                                           :           YUSUF HAJI MOHAMED


Garissa County has eleven (6) constituencies divided into 30 electoral wards. Lagdera and Dadaab have 6 wards each, Balambala and Fafi have 5 wards each while Garissa Township and Ijara have 4 wards.

1 Comment

Lamu County – 005 · December 17, 2017 at 5:42 pm

[…] County number 005 is located in the northern coast of Kenya. It borders Garissa County to the North, the Indian Ocean to the South and South East, and Tana River County to the South West […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.