Kisumu County number 042 borders Vihiga County to the North, Nandi County to the North East and  to the East, Nyamira County to the South, Homa Bay County to the South West and Siaya County to the West.


According to the 2009 Kenya Population and Housing Census the population was 968,909 with a population density of 465 people per Km2 and an annual growth rate of 2.5%. Age Distribution was 0-14 years 43.5%, 15-64 years 53.3% and over 65 years 3.2%.


Its capital and largest town is Kisumu town.


It covers an area of 2,085.9Km2.


It has an annual relief rainfall of between 1200mm and 1300mm with mean annual temperature of 230C and ranges between 200C and 350C.

Road network:

Bitumen Surface is 131.5Km, Gravel Surface 359.2Km and Earth Surface 299.1Km.

Education and Literacy:

As at 2007, the County had 706 Primary schools with an enrolment of 240, 538 pupils and a teacher to pupil ratio of 1: 51 and 173 Secondary schools with an enrolment of 38, 813 pupils and a teacher to pupil ratio of 1: 30.

Tertiary institutions in the county are 1 University, 4 Satellite college campuses, 1 National Polytechnic, 5 Youth polytechnics, and several commercial colleges among others.

Financial services: 25 Commercial Bank branches and 2 Mortgage Finance branches provide the people with financial services.   


Kisumu County has 98 health facilities with 1 Provincial hospital, 3 District Hospitals, 5 Sub-District Hospitals, 53 Dispensaries, 6 Health Centres, and 30 other non classified.

Prevalent diseases are; Malaria, HIV/AIDS, Diarrhoeal diseases, Intestinal worms and respiratory disorders.

 Notable Hospitals: Nyanza Referral Hospital, Kisumu District Hospital and Aga Khan Hospital Kisumu.

Tourist attractions:

These include Lake Victoria, Impala Park and Kisumu Museum.


The major economic activities are subsistence farming, livestock keeping, fishing, Rice farming, sugar cane farming, and small scale trading.


With the adoption of the new constitution in 2010 which ushered in the devolved system of governance, the Governor is the Executive authority in the County together with his deputy, the Senator is to represent the County at the Senate and through affirmation of women and youth rights, the Woman Representative is to represent the County’s women and youth issues at the National Assembly.

GOVERNOR                                       :           Prof.  PETER ANYANG’ NYONG’O

DEPUTY GOVERNOR                       :           MATHEW OWILI OCHIENG’

SENATOR                                           :           FREDRICK OTIENO OUTA


Bungoma County has seven (7) constituencies divided into 35 electoral wards. Kisumu Central has the highest number of wards with 6, followed by Kisumu East, Kisumu West, Nyando, Muhoroni and Nyakach with 5 each while Seme Constituency has the least with 4 wards.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.