Mombasa County number 001, the smallest in the country borders Kilifi County to the North, Kwale County to the South West and the Indian Ocean to the East. Being one of the five counties that border the Indian Ocean, it enjoys only 65Km2 of the waters.


Its capital is Mombasa City and it hosts the Port of Mombasa, the largest in East Africa and a gateway to East Africa and the Great Lake counties for imports.


It covers an area of 229.7Km2 excluding the 65Km2 of the Indian Ocean water mass.


According to the 2019 Kenya Population and Housing Census, the population was 1,2088,333 people composed of 610,257 males, 598,046 females and 30 intersex. It has a population density of 5,495 people per Km2.

Road network:

The County has 27Km of classified roads and 221.46Km of unclassified roads.

Education and Literacy:

Mombasa’s education standards have been greatly affected by drug abuse and the alshabab radicalization of youth. A majority of youth at 40% have not made it beyond standard eight.

It has the following Universities and Colleges:

  • The Mombasa Polytechnic University College
  • Mombasa Technical Training Institute
  • Kenyatta University Mombasa Campus
  • Kenya Methodist University
  • Kenya Coast University
  • Islamic University Mombasa
  • Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology, Mombasa Campus
  • Daystar University, Mombasa Campus
Financial services:

All the major commercial banks have branches in Coastal City.


There are a total of 311 health facilities spread across the county. These are 1 referral facility, 2 District hospitals, 41 dispensaries, 8 health centres and 259 uncategorized facilities.

Prominent hospitals include; Coast Level Five Hospital, Port Reitz and Agha Khan Hospital.

Tourist attractions:

The County is the centre of tourism in the country. It hosts various tourist attractions which are; Fort Jesus, white sandy Beaches, Water Sports, Mombasa Marine National Park, Nature Trail, Historical and Cultural sites and numerous world class Tourist Hotels.


The main economic activity includes tourism which contributes to 68% of the wage employment. Others are fishing, farming of sisal, sugarcane, cashewnuts, and coconuts and livestock farming,

Various manufacturing firms have set up base in the County including Bamburi Cement Company at Bamburi. Other industries include petroleum refining, food processing, salt and sand.


With the adoption of the new constitution in 2010 which ushered in the devolved system of governance, the Governor is the Executive authority in the County together with his deputy, the Senator is to represent the County at the Senate and through affirmation of women and youth rights, the Woman Representative is to represent the County’s women and youth issues at the National Assembly.

GOVERNOR                                       :           HASSAN ALI JOHO

DEPUTY GOVERNOR                       :           WILLIAM KAZUNGU KINGI

SENATOR                                           :           MOHAMED FAKI MWINYI HAJI


Mombasa County has six (6) constituencies; Changamwe, Jomvu, Kisauni, Nyali, Likoni and Mvita. It is divided further into 30 electoral wards with Kisauni having the highest number with 7, Jomvu 3 and the rest having 5 wards each.