Muranga County number 021 is located in central Kenya and borders Nyeri County to the North, Nyandarua County to the West, Kiambu County to the South and Kirinyaga County to the East.


Its capital is Muranga Town.


It covers an area of 1,798Km2.


According to the 2009 Kenya Population and Housing Census, the population was 942,581 people with a population density of 524 people per Km2.  Age distribution was 0-14 Years 30%, 15-64 Years 59% and over 65 years 11%.


The County experiences two seasons of rain and temperatures range between 210C and 350C.

Road network:

The total length of all classified roads in the county is 878Km with bitumen surface covering 159Km, gravel surface covering 210Km and 509Km being surface.

Education and Literacy:

The County has 1080 ECD centres with a total enrolment of 31,944 pupils a teacher to pupil ratio is 1:28.

It has 634 primary schools served by 6,324 teachers and total enrolment of 214,986 pupils with a teacher to pupil ratio is 1:34 and 292 secondary schools served by 3,206 teachers and a total enrolment of 84,874 students. The teacher to student ratio is 1:26.

There are 57 tertiary institutions including Murang’a Institute of Technology, Michuki Technical Traning Institute, Murang’a Teachers College, fourty eight youth polytechnics, three accredited colleges and four non accredited colleges.

Financial services:

Several commercial banks have branches in all the major towns of Muranga. There are thriving Micro Finance Institutions in the County.   


There are a total of 364 health facilities spread across the county. 3 District Hospitals and 2 Sub District Hospitals.

Prevalent Diseases: Malaria, Respiratory Tract Infections, Intestinal Worms, Broncho-pneumonia.

Tourist attractions:

The main tourist attraction sites in the county are the Aberdares National Park and cultural heritage sites that have a rich history on the origins of the Agikuyu people. Such sites are at Mukurwe wa Nyagathanga and Karia Ka Mbari ya Ngware. Others are natural sites for hiking and camping at Rapid Camp, Aberdare cottages and sport and leisure fishing sites at Kimakia fishing grounds, Ndakaini Dam and Forthall Monument.



Agriculture is the predominant economic activity in the county with 80% of the population relying on it for sustenance. The main agricultural products are coffee, tea, milk, fish, honey, maize and beans,

The county also practices livestock farming. This is mainly done through zero grazing. Animals reared include cattle, sheep and goats in addition to poultry and pigs.

Other economic activities include the informal sector (juakali), tourism and manufacturing.


With the adoption of the new constitution in 2010 which ushered in the devolved system of governance, the Governor is the Executive authority in the County together with his deputy, the Senator is to represent the County at the Senate and through affirmation of women and youth rights, the Woman Representative is to represent the County’s women and youth issues at the National Assembly.

GOVERNOR                                       :           MWANGI WA IRIA

DEPUTY GOVERNOR                       :           JAMES MAINA KAMAU

SENATOR                                           :           IRUNGU KANG’ATA


Muranga County has seven (7) constituencies which are further divided into 35 electoral wards. Kiharu, Maragwa, Kandara and Gatanga have 6 wards each, followed by Kigumo with 5 while Kangema and Mathioya have 3 each.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.