Nandi County number 029 is located in the Rift Valley and borders Uasin Gishu County to the North and East, Kericho County to the South East, Kisumu County to the South, Vihiga County to the South West, and Kakamega County to the West.


According to the 2009 Kenya Population and Housing Census the population was 752,965 with a population density of 261 people per Km2 and an annual growth rate of 2.9%.  Age Distribution was 0-14 years 45%, 15-64 years 51.4% and over 65 years 3.6%.


Its capital is Kapsabet Town.


It covers an area of 2,884.2Km2.


Temperatures range from a minimum of 12°C to a maximum of 23°C with rainfall ranging between 1,200mm and 2,000mm per annum.

Road network:

The total length of classified roads is 1,704.4Km with bitumen surface covering 155.1Km, gravel surface 783.6Km and earth surface 765.7Km.

Education and Literacy:

As at 2007, the County had 744 Primary schools with an enrolment of 222,672 pupils and a teacher to pupil ratio of 1:32 and 155 Secondary schools with an enrolment of 27,238 pupils and a teacher to pupil ratio of 1: 42.

Tertiary institutions in the county are over 20 including a University, several commercial colleges and polytechnics among others.

Financial services:

8 Commercial Banks and 7 Micro-Finance Institutions provide the people with financial services.   


Nandi County has 138 health facilities with 2 District Hospitals, 3 Sub-District Hospital, 103 Dispensaries, 19 Health Centres, 3 Medical Clinics, 5 VCT centres and 3 privately owned institutions.

The most prevalent diseases in the county are malaria and urinary tract infections.

Notable Hospitals are Kapsabet District Hospital and Nandi Hills District Hospital.

Tourist attractions

These are Koitalel Arap Samoei museum in Nandi Hills town, Bonjoge Game Reserve, chepkiit waterfalls, kingwai swamp and sports tourism.


The major economic is large scale maize farming making the county a vital component of the country’s bread basket. Other farming activities include tea, coffee, sugarcane, pyrethrum and dairy farming. Agricultural products are maize, beans, sorghum, millet, irish potatoes and dairy products.

Other economic activities include sports through athletics and mining with potential for exploitation of gold, silica, limestone, iron ore, talc and muscovite.


With the adoption of the new constitution in 2010 which ushered in the devolved system of governance, the Governor is the Executive authority in the County together with his deputy, the Senator is to represent the County at the Senate and through affirmation of women and youth rights, the Woman Representative is to represent the County’s women and youth issues at the National Assembly.

GOVERNOR                                       :           STEPHEN KIPYEGO SANG

DEPUTY GOVERNOR                       :           DR. YULITA CHEBOTIP MITEI

SENATOR                                           :           CHERARKEY K. SAMSON


Nandi County has six (6) constituencies and 30 electoral wards. Mosop has the highest number of wards with 7, followed by Aldai with 6, Chesumei with 5 while Tinderet, Nandi Hills and Emgwen have 4 wards each.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.