Siaya County number 041 is located in The Lake Victoria Basin and borders Busia County to the North, Kakamega County to the Northeast, Vihiga County to the East, Kisumu County to the South East with Lake Victoria to the South and West.


Its capital is Siaya town.


It covers an area of 2,530.5Km2.


According to the 2009 Kenya Population and Housing Census the population was 842,304 with a population density of 332 people per Km2.  Age Distribution was 0-14 years (46.1 %), 15-64 years (50.9 %) and over 65+ years (3.0 %).


It has an annual rainfall of between 1,170mm and 1,450mm with a mean annual temperature of 21.50C and a range of 150C and 300C.

Education and Literacy:

As at 2007, the County had 656 Primary schools with an enrolment of 259,545 pupils and a teacher to pupil ratio of 1:53 and 148 Secondary schools with an enrolment of 22,042 pupils and a teacher to pupil ratio of 1:31.

Tertiary: More than 4 Institutions

Financial Services:

6 Commercial Banks, 9 Micro-Finance Institutions, 2 Village Banks


Siaya County has 124 health facilities with 2 District Hospitals, 3 Sub-District Hospitals, 83 Dispensaries, 26 Health Centres and 10 other  institutions.

Prevalent Diseases: Malaria, HIV/AIDS, Diarrhoeal diseases, Respiratory disorders

Notable Hospitals:

Siaya District Hospital, Bondo District Hospital.

Tourist Attractions:

Kogelo home to Obama Snr the father of USA president Barrack Obama, Yala Swamp and Wetlands, Ndanu Falls, Lake Kanyaboli and Lake Victoria.


Main economic activities include subsistence farming, livestock keeping, fishing, rice farming and small scale trading.

Rice farming is done in Dominion Farms along River Yala.

It is endowed with natural resources as agricultural land, fisheries, indigenous forests and rivers.


With the adoption of the new constitution in 2010 which ushered in the devolved system of governance, the Governor is the Executive authority in the County together with his deputy, the Senator is to represent the County at the Senate and through affirmation of women and youth rights, the Woman Representative is to represent the County’s women and youth issues at the National Assembly.

GOVERNOR                                       :           CORNEL AMOTH RASANGA

DEPUTY GOVERNOR                       :           JAMES OUKO OKUMBE

SENATOR                                           :           JAMES ORENGO


Siaya County has six (6) constituencies and 30 electoral wards. Alego Usonga, Gem and Bondo have six wards each while Rarieda has five, Ugenya 4 and Ugunja the least with three wards.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.