Tharaka Nithi County number 013 is located in the Central region of Kenya and borders Meru County to the North and North East, Kitui County to the East and South East and Embu County to the South and South West.


According to the 2009 Kenya Population and Housing Census, the population for Tharaka Nithi County was 365,330 people with a population density of 138 people per Km2 and an annual growth rate of 3.0%. Age distribution was; 0-14 years at 39.1%, 15-64 years at 55.5% and 65+ years 5.3%.


Its capital is Chuka town.


It covers an area of 2,638.8Km2 according to the 2009 Kenya Population and Housing Census.


Temperatures range from a minimum of 11°C to a maximum of 25.9°C. The rainfall ranges between 200mm and 800mm per annum.

Road network:

The total length of all classified roads in the county is 633.2Km with bitumen surface covering 152.5Km, gravel surface covering 36.4Km and 444.3Km being surface.

Education and Literacy:

As at 2007, the County had 168 Primary schools with an enrolment of 40,216 and a teacher to pupil ratio of 1: 34. There were 24 Secondary schools with an enrolment of 1,085 with a teacher to pupil ratio of 1:25.

The county has several Tertiary Institutions led by Chuka University College.

Financial services:

The County has one commercial bank and one micro finance institution.   


There are a total of 88 health facilities spread across the county. The county has 3 District Hospitals, 1 Sub-District Hospital, 60 Dispensaries, 7 Health Centres, 13 Medical Clinics and four others.

Notable Hospitals include Chuka, Magutuni and Tharaka District Hospitals.

Prevalent Diseases: Malaria, Intestinal Worms, Diseases of Respiratory System.

Tourist attractions:

The only tourist attraction in the county is Mutejwa National Reserve.


Main economic activities include farming with the agricultural produce including tea, coffee, horticulture, cotton, millet, maize, sorghum, cowpeas and cassava. Pastoralism is practiced with livestock being kept.

Other economic activities include mining of kaoline, sand and stone quarrying.


With the adoption of the new constitution in 2010 which ushered in the devolved system of governance, the Governor is the Executive authority in the County together with his deputy, the Senator is to represent the County at the Senate and through affirmation of women and youth rights, the Woman Representative is to represent the County’s women and youth issues at the National Assembly.

GOVERNOR                                       :           ONESMUS MUTHOMI NJUKI

DEPUTY GOVERNOR                       :           FRANCIS NYAMU KAGWIMA

SENATOR                                           :           KITHURE KINDIKI


Tharaka Nithi County has three (3) constituencies divided into 15 electoral wards. The Constituencies are Maara, Chuka/Igambang’ombe and Tharaka all which have 5 wards each.


John · June 10, 2018 at 2:29 pm

The headquarters of Tharaka Nithi is at Kathwana,not Chuka town

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.