Embu County

0 +
Area Km2
County Number

Embu County

Embu County number 014 is located in Eastern Kenya and borders Tharaka Nithi County to the North, Kitui County to the East, Machakos County to the South, Muranga County to the South West, Kirinyaga County to the West, and Meru County to the North West.


Its capital is Embu town.


According to the 2009 Kenya Population and Housing Census, the County has a population of 516,212, a population density of 183 people per km2 and an annual growth rate of 1.7%. The Age Distribution is; 0-14 years 37.5 %, 15-64 years 57.3 %, 65+ years 5.2 %.

Tourist Attractions

The County does not have national parks or game reserves apart from tourist attraction sites which are unexploited. These sites include Mbui Njeru and Nthenge Njeru waterfalls and Kimiriri and Karue Hills.


Temperature ranges from a minimum of 12 °C to a maximum of 27.0 °C. The average annual rainfall is 1495mm.

Road networks

The total road network is 1436.3Km. Bitumen surface covers 120Km, gravel surface covers 402Km and earth surface 914.3Km.

Education and Literacy

As at 2007, the County had 494 primary schools with an enrolment of 125,418 pupils and a teacher to pupil ratio of 1:32 and 147 secondary schools with an enrolment of 27,173 and a teacher to pupil ratio of 1:23.

There are over 15 tertiary institutions including a University Affiliate College, Youth Polytechnics, Teachers Training Colleges, Technical Colleges and Several Commercial Colleges.

Financial Services

It is served by several commercial banks and Micro Finance Institutions.   


There are a total of 133 health facilities spread across the county. The county has one level-five hospital, 2 District Hospitals, 2 Sub-District Hospitals, 74 Dispensaries, 12 Health Centres, 34 Medical Clinics, 2 Nursing Homes, 1 Maternity Home, and five private institutions.

Notable Hospitals include Embu Level Five Hospital, Mbeere District Hospital and  Runyenjes District Hospital.

Prevalent Diseases: Malaria, URTI, skin diseases, intestinal worms, eye infections and diarrhoea.

Political Leadership

With the adoption of the new constitution in 2010 which ushered in the devolved system of governance, the Governor is the Executive authority in the County together with his deputy, the Senator is to represent the County at the Senate and through affirmation of women and youth rights, the Woman Representative is to represent the County’s women and youth issues at the National Assembly.





Embu County has four (4) constituencies divided into 20 electoral wards. Manyatta and Runyenjes have 6 wards each while Mbeere South has 5 and Mbeere North has 3 wards.


Agriculture is the predominant economic activity in the county with rice being the major cash crop. It is home to Mwea Rice Irrigation which is the largest producer of rice in Kenya.

Other crops produced in the county include coffee, tea, pyrethrum, maize, beans, yams, cassava, millet, sorghum, bananas and dairy products. Most of these are carried out under subsistence farming.

Natural resources in the County are wildlife, arable land, water, pasture, forests, hills and potential for minerals such as garnet, beryl, muscovite, graphite, asbestos and iron ore.

Scroll to Top