Kericho County

0 +
Area Km2
County Number


Kericho County number 035 is located in the Rift Valley and borders Nandi County to the North, Uasin Gishu County and Baringo County to the North East, Nakuru County to the East and South East, Bomet County to the South, Nyamira County and Homa Bay County to the South West, and Kisumu County to the West and North West.


Its capital is Kericho Town. Other towns include Litein and Londiani.


According to the 2009 Kenya Population and Housing Census, the population was 758,339 with an annual growth rate of 2.4%. The age distribution is as follows: 0-14 years 43.6%, 15-64 years 53.4%, 65+ years 3.0%.

Tourist Attractions

These include a monkey sanctuary, bird watching, Chagic Botanic Garden, Mau Forest and Tulwap Kipsigis, a cultural site.


Temperatures range from a minimum of 16°C to a maximum of 20°C. The average rainfall ranges between 1,400 mm and 2,000mm per annum.

Road networks

Bitumen Surface 184.9Km, Gravel Surface 96.4 Km and Earth Surface 846Km.

Education and Literacy

As at 2007, the County had 461 primary schools with a total enrolment of 163,133 pupils and a teacher to pupil ratio of 1:43. There were 106 secondary schools with a total enrolment of 30,375 and a teacher to pupil ratio of 1:33.

Over 15 Tertiary institutions are based in the County comprised of University Satellite Campus, Youth Polytechnics, Teacher Training Colleges, Medical Training College, Technical Colleges, and Several Commercial Colleges.

Financial Services

9 Commercial Banks, 4 Micro-Finance Institutions serve the residents with financial services.


There are a total of 136 health facilities spread across the county with three level-4 (district), two level-3 (sub-district) hospitals, 9 level-two (Health Centres) and 105 level-ones (dispensaries) distributed within the county. Others are seven medical clinics, three VCT Centres and seven uncategorized institutions.

Prevalent Disease: Malaria, Skin Infections, Upper Respiratory Tract Infections.

Notable hospitals are Kericho, Sigowet and Londiani District Hospitals.

Political Leadership

With the adoption of the new constitution in 2010 which ushered in the devolved system of governance, the Governor is the Executive authority in the County together with his deputy, the Senator is to represent the County at the Senate and through the affirmation of women and youth rights, the Woman Representative is to represent the County’s women and youth issues at the National Assembly.





Kericho County has six (6) constituencies divided into 30 electoral wards. Bureti has the highest number of wards with 7, followed by Ainamoi with 6, Belgut with 5, while Kipkelion East and West and Sigowet, Soin have 4 wards each.


The major economic activity is tea growing and processing. The Mau Forest in Kericho is the biggest water catchment area in Kenya. At a high altitude and virtually daily rains, this makes Kericho the centre of Kenya’s tea industry.

It is also home to the popular Ketepa brand. Other established tea companies based here include Unilever Kenya, James Finlay and Williamson Tea. Much of the tea processed here is for export, making tea among the country’s top foreign exchange-earners.

Other economic activities include; Dairy Farming, Horticulture and Floriculture, Wheat, Fish Farming, Commercial Businesses and sugar processing at the privately-owned Soin Sugar Company.

The County has potential gold and silica deposits for exploitation.

The County is also home to some of the world’s best long-distance runners.

Scroll to Top