Kiambu County

0 +
Area Km2
County Number


Kiambu County number 022 is located in the central region of the country and it borders Nairobi County and Kajiado County to the South, Machakos County to the East, Murang‘a County to the North and North East, Nyandarua County to the North West, and Nakuru County to the West.

The county lies between latitudes 00 25‘and 10 20‘South of the Equator and Longitude 360 31‘and 370 15‘East.


Its capital is Kiambu town.

Other major towns include; Thika town, Limuru Town, Garundu, Ruiru, Githunguri among other town centres.


According to the 2009 Census, Kiambu County population was projected to hit 2,032,464 people by the end of 2017. This is influenced by the county‘s high population growth rate, at 2.81 per cent and the influx of people working in the city who prefer to stay in Kiambu and its environs where there are less congestion and well-developed infrastructure.

Tourist Attractions

The County does not have national parks or game reserves apart from tourist attraction sites which are unexploited.

These sites include:

  • Kinare Forest in Lari Constituency
  • Chania Falls and Fourteen Falls in Juja Constituency
  • Paradise Lost and Mugumo Gardens in Kiambaa Constituency
  • Mau Mau Caves
  • Gatamaiyu Fish Camp and
  • Historical sites in Gatundu and Githunguri Constituencies.


The County experiences long rains between Mid-March to May followed by a cold season usually with drizzles and frost from June to August and the short rains between Mid-October to November. The average rainfall received by the county is 1,200 mm.

The mean temperature in the county is 260C with temperatures ranging from 70C in the upper highlands to 340C in the lower midlands. July and August are the months during which the lowest temperatures are experienced, whereas January to March are the hottest months.

Road networks

The total length of all classified roads in the county is 3,944.1Km with bitumen surface covering 2,033.8Km, gravel surface covering 1,480.2Km and 430.1Km being surface. Some of these road networks are not in good condition and they worsen during the rainy season.

Education and Literacy

The percentage of people within the county who can read and write stands at 95.4 per cent. The high literacy rates are as a result of continued investment in the education sector dating back to the pre-independence era.

The County has a total population of 87,594 children falling within the age group of 3 to 5 (pre-school). The total number of ECD teachers is 1,843 and the teacher to pupil ratio is 1:40. Total enrolment for ECD in the county is 73,730.

There are 1,225 primary schools out of which 576 are public and 349 are private. The total number of primary school teachers is 21,090 and the teacher to pupil ratio is 1:38. The total enrolment is 295,409 pupils, a 99.7% rate. This could be attributed to the introduction of Free Primary Education programme.

There are 303 secondary schools consisting of 227 public and 76 private schools. The total enrolment is 89,065 which translate to 61.8%. The number of teachers in the county stands at 3,479 and the teacher/pupil ratio is 1:25. The completion rate is 92.5 percent.

The county has one public university namely Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology; five private universities which include St. Pauls University, Mt. Kenya University, Gretsa University, Kiriri Women’s University of Science and Technology and the Presbyterian University of East Africa. It hosts one public university campus, University of Nairobi, Kikuyu Campus. The county also has two Teacher Training Colleges namely Kilimambogo and Thogoto.

Financial Services

All the major commercial banks have branches in all the major towns of Kiambu, Thika and Limuru. There are thriving Micro Finance Institutions in the County owing to the enterprising nature of the inhabitants.


There are a total of 364 health facilities spread across the county.

The flagship health institutions in the county are the Kiambu Level Five in Kiambu Town and Thika Level Five Hospital in Thika Town.

Others are; three Level-4 hospitals in Gatundu South, Kiambaa and Kikuyu Constituencies and four Level-3 hospitals in Gatundu North, Juja, Kiambaa and Limuru Constituencies.

There are 20 Level-2 (Health Centres) and 54 Level-ones (dispensaries) which are well distributed within the county. The rest of the facilities are private with 17 Mission Hospitals, five nursing homes, 36 dispensaries and 169 private clinics.

The doctor/population ratio in the county is 1:17,000 and the nurse/population ratio stands at 1:1,300. The average distance to the health facility is seven Km and the facilities are well accessed since the road network is good.

Prevalent Diseases: Malaria, Respiratory Tract Infections, Intestinal Worms, Broncho-pneumonia.

Political Leadership

With the adoption of the new constitution in 2010 which ushered in the devolved system of governance, the Governor is the Executive authority in the County together with his deputy, the Senator is to represent the County at the Senate and through the affirmation of women and youth rights, the Woman Representative is to represent the County’s women and youth issues at the National Assembly.





Kiambu County has twelve (12) constituencies, which are Gatundu South, Gatundu North, Juja, Thika Town, Ruiru, Githunguri, Kiambu, Kiambaa, Kikuyu, Kabete, Limuru, and Lari. These constituencies are further divided into 60 electoral wards. Ruiru Constituency has the highest number of wards with 8 wards, while the rest of the constituencies have five each with the exemption of Kiambu, Gatundu South and Gatundu North which has four each.

The county is divided into twelve (12) sub-counties namely Limuru, Kikuyu, Lari, Gatundu South, Gatundu North, Githunguri, Kiambu, Ruiru, Thika, Juja, Kiambaa, and Kabete. These are further sub-divided into 29 divisions, 95 locations and 236 sub-locations.


Agriculture is the predominant economic activity in the county. It is the leading sub-sector in terms of employment, food security, income earnings and overall contribution to the socio-economic well being of the people. Majority of the people in the county depend on the sub-sector for their livelihood, with 304,449 directly or indirectly employed in the sector. Coffee and tea are the main cash crops in the county. The main food crops grown in the county are maize, beans, pineapples and Irish potatoes. These are mainly grown on a small scale in the upper highlands of Limuru, Kikuyu, Gatundu North and South Constituencies.

The county also practices livestock farming. This is mainly done through zero grazing. Animals reared include cattle, sheep and goats in addition to poultry and pigs. Growth in this sub-sector has been encouraged by a ready urban market in Thika, Ruiru, Kiambu, Nairobi and the availability of local food processing factories such as Farmers´ Choice Ltd, Kenchic Co. Ltd, Brookside Dairies, Githunguri Dairies, Ndumberi Dairies, Limuru Milk and Palmside Dairies, among others.

Other economic activities include Food Processing, Manufacturing (Leather), Mining of natural gas in Lari constituency by Carbacid Company Limited and extraction of ballast, hardcore, gravel, murram, sand and building stones in Juja, Gatundu South and Gatundu North Constituencies, Textile (Cotton), Motor Vehicle Assembly, Wholesale and Retail trade.

Scroll to Top