County Number


Kitui County number 015 is located in Eastern Kenya and borders Tana River County to the East and South East, Taita Taveta County to the South, Makueni County and Machakos County to the West, Embu County to the North West and Tharaka Nithi County and Meru County to the North.

It covers an area of 30,496.5Km.


According to the 2009 Kenya Population and Housing Census, the population was 1,012,709 with a population density of 33 people per Km2 and an annual growth rate of 2.2%.  Age Distribution was 0-14 years 46.6%, 15-64 years 48.2 %, 65+ years 5.2%.


Its capital is Kitui town. Other major towns are Mwingi Town.


Temperatures range from a minimum of 14°C to a maximum of 34°C. The rainfall ranges from 500mm to 1050mm per annum in different parts of the county.

Road Networks

Bitumen Surface (Data Not Available), Gravel Surface 399.2 Km, Earth Surface 1072.2 Km.

Education and Literacy

As at 2007, the County had 1,096 Primary schools with an enrolment of 328,528 pupils and a teacher to pupil ratio of 1: 41 and 181 Secondary schools with an enrolment of 46,100 pupils and a teacher to pupil ratio of 1: 34.

Tertiary institutions in the county are more than Over 60 (Comprised of University Satellite Campuses, Youth Polytechnics, Teacher Training Colleges, Medical Training College, Technical Colleges, and Several Commercial Colleges).

Financial Services

4 Commercial Banks, 8 Micro-Finance.   


There are a total of 261 health facilities spread across the county. The county has 3 level-4 hospitals (District), eight level-three (Sub-District), 23 level-two (Health Centres) and 189 level-ones (dispensaries).  The rest of the facilities are 30 medical clinics, 5 nursing homes and 3 unclassified.

Prevalent Diseases: Malaria, Respiratory Tract Infections, Intestinal Worms, Broncho-pneumonia.

Tourist Attractions

The County has two game parks, the Mwingi National Reserve and the Tsavo East National Park.


Main economic activities are Livestock keeping, farming of tobacco, cotton, coffee, mangoes and commercial businesses.

Agricultural products include Livestock Products, Maize, Beans, Sorghum, Pigeon Peas, Cowpeas, Cassava and Millet.

The county is endowed with arable land, wildlife, livestock, forests and minerals which include huge deposits of coal. Other minerals with potential for exploitation include wollastonite, copper, graphite, garnet, tourmaline, vanadium, sillimanite, ilmenite, iron ore, pyrite, silica, epidote, diatomite, coal, gypsum, magnesite, gold and asbestos.

Political Leadership

With the adoption of the new constitution in 2010 which ushered in the devolved system of governance, the Governor is the Executive authority in the County together with his deputy, the Senator is to represent the County at the Senate and through the affirmation of women and youth rights, the Woman Representative is to represent the County’s women and youth issues at the National Assembly.

GOVERNOR                                       :           CHARITY KALUKI NGILU

DEPUTY GOVERNOR                       :           DR. GIDEON WATHE NZAU

SENATOR                                           :           ENOCH KIIO WAMBUA


Kitui County has only eight (8) constituencies divided into 40 electoral wards. Mwingi Central, Kitui East and South have 6 each, Mwngi North and Kitui Central have five each and Mwingi West, Kitui West and Kitui Rural have 4 wards each.

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Scroll to Top