Lamu County

0 +
Area Km2
County Number


Lamu County number 005 is located on the northern coast of Kenya. It borders Garissa County to the North, the Indian Ocean to the South and South East, and Tana River County to the South West and West.


Its capital is Lamu town.


According to the 2009 Kenya Population and Housing Census, the population was 101,539 with a population density of 16 people per Km2 and an annual growth rate of 2.47%. Age Distribution was 0-14 years 41.7%, 15-64 years 54.8% and over 65 years 3.5%.

Tourist Attractions

These are Pate Ruins, Manda Island, Matondoni Dhow making village, Maulidi Festival, Lamu Cultural Festival, Boni – Dodori National Reserve, Lamu Museum, Lamu Fort, Siyu Fort, Takwa Ruins, Swahili House, German Post Office, Lamu Old Town, Kiunga Marine National Reserve.


The average temperature is 27.3 °C and rainfall averages 950mm per annum.

Road networks

The total length of all classified roads in the county is 688.6Km with bitumen surface covering 6Km, gravel surface 161.1Km and earth surface 521.5Km.

Education and Literacy

As at 2007, the County had 70 Primary schools with an enrolment of 22,633 pupils and a teacher to pupil ratio of 1: 40 and 11 Secondary schools with an enrolment of 972 pupils and a teacher to pupil ratio of 1: 39.

Tertiary institutions in the county are less than 5 which include a Youth Polytechnic and some commercial colleges.

Financial Services

2 Commercial Banks and 3 Micro-Finance institutions. 


There are a total of 42 health facilities spread across the county. The county has one District Hospital, 2 Sub-District Hospitals, 20 Dispensaries, 5 Health Centres, 13 Medical Clinics and 1 Nursing Home.

Prevalent Diseases: malaria, respiratory tract infections, skin diseases and HIV/AIDS.

Notable Hospitals: Lamu District Hospital, Faza Hospital and Mpeketoni Sub-District Hospital.

Political Leadership

With the adoption of the new constitution in 2010 which ushered in the devolved system of governance, the Governor is the Executive authority in the County together with his deputy, the Senator is to represent the County at the Senate and through the affirmation of women and youth rights, the Woman Representative is to represent the County’s women and youth issues at the National Assembly.





Lamu County has two (2) constituencies; Lamu East and Lamu West. The constituencies are divided into 10 electoral wards with Lamu East having 3 and Lamu West having 7 wards.


The main economic activities are farming, livestock rearing, fishing, mining and tourism.

The County has 959,000ha of agricultural land with the overall average farm being 4ha each. Agriculture supports 73.6% of the population in the county. The major crops grown include maize, sorghum, cowpeas, cassava, green grams, bananas, mangoes, cotton, coconut and bixa.

Livestock keeping in the area provides a livelihood for about 30% of the population both directly and indirectly. Poultry farming and beekeeping are also practised in the county.

The County produces over 1,500 metric tons of fish annually valued at Kshs.111.8 million; 75% of which is from marine fishing.

The gazetted forest area in Lamu is about 50,093.4ha of the total land, 85% of which is mangrove forests. Some communities in Lamu, such as the Bajuni, depend on mangrove harvesting as their main source of income. The main forest products are timber, mangrove poles, fuelwood, charcoal, and casuarinas poles.

Like most coastal areas in Kenya, Lamu is rich in minerals like titanium, salt, limestone, coral stones, sands and cement. The main sand and ballast quarrying sites in Lamu are in Manda, Matondoni, Lake Kenyatta, Kizingitini and Faza.

Scroll to Top