County Number


Meru County number 012 is located along the eastern side of the Mt Kenya ring.  Meru County borders Isiolo County to the North and North East, Tharaka Nithi County to the South West, Nyeri County to the South West and Laikipia County to the West.

It covers an area of 6,936.0Km2.


According to the 2009 Kenya Population and Housing Census, the population was 1,356,301 people with a population density of 195.5 people per Km2. The age distribution is as follows: 0-14 years 39.9%, 15-64 years 55.6%, 65+ years 4.4 %.


Its capital is Meru town.


Temperatures range from a minimum of 16°C to a maximum of 23°C. The rainfall ranges between 500mm and 2600mm per annum.

Road Networks

The total length of all classified roads in the county is 1,259.3Km with bitumen surface covering 225.7Km, gravel surface covering 266.1Km and 767.5Km being surface.

Education and Literacy

There are 486 primary schools with an enrolment of 105,537 and a teacher to pupil ratio of 1: 29. There are 190 secondary schools with an enrolment of 27,729 and a teacher to pupil ratio of 1:30.

There are more than 20 tertiary institutions.

Financial Services

All the major commercial banks have branches in all the major towns of Meru, Maua and other towns. There are thriving Micro Finance Institutions in the County.


There are a total of 311 health facilities spread across the county. These are composed of 5 district hospitals, 6 sub-district hospitals, 102 dispensaries, 23 health centres, 158 medical clinics, 5 nursing homes, 3 maternity homes and 9 private institutions.

Prevalent Diseases: Malaria, Respiratory Tract Infections, Intestinal Worms, Broncho-pneumonia.

Tourist Attractions

Mt. Kenya, Meru National Park, Meru Museum, Nyambene Complex.


Agriculture is the predominant economic activity in the county dominated by Miraa (Khat) Trade.

Others are tobacco, tea and coffee farming.

Political Leadership

With the adoption of the new constitution in 2010 which ushered in the devolved system of governance, the Governor is the Executive authority in the County together with his deputy, the Senator is to represent the County at the Senate and through the affirmation of women and youth rights, the Woman Representative is to represent the County’s women and youth issues at the National Assembly.

GOVERNOR                                       :           KIRAITU MURUNGI

DEPUTY GOVERNOR                       :           TITUS MUTEA NTUCHIU

SENATOR                                           :           FRANKLIN MITHIKA LINTURI


Meru County has only nine (9) constituencies divided into 45 electoral wards. South Imenti has the highest with 6 and Buuri the lowest with 4. The rest Igembe South, IGembe Central, Igembe North, Tigania West, Tigania East, North Imenti and Central Imenti have 5 each.

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Scroll to Top