Nakuru county

0 +
Area Km2
County Number

Nakuru County

Nakuru County number 032 is located in the Great Rift Valley region and borders Baringo County to the north, Laikipia County to the north east, Nyandarua County to the east, Kajiado County to the south, Narok County to the south west with Bomet County and Kericho County to the west.


Its capital is Nakuru town, lying just 160km from Nairobi and once dubbed “the cleanest town in East-Africa”. It is the largest urban centre in the County and fourth largest town in Kenya after Nairobi, Mombasa and Kisumu.


According to the 2009 Kenya Population and Housing Census the population was 1,603,325 with an annual growth rate of 3.4%. It ranks fourth as the most populous County in Kenya behind Nairobi, Kakamega and Kiambu respectively. The age distribution is as follows: 0-14 years (41.8 %), 15-64 years (55.1 %), 65+ years (3.0%).

Tourist Attractions

The County has endowed with a lot of tourist sites thanks to its location at the heart of rift valley. These include Lake Naivasha, Mt. Longonot National park and Hells gate national park in Naivasha, Lake Elementaita in Gilgil, Lake Nakuru, Hyrax Hill Historic Museum and Menengai Crater in Nakuru and Lord Egerton’s castle in Njoro.


The County experiences 1,800mm to 2,000mm per annum of rainfall with the wettest season being April and May. Temperatures range from a minimum of 12°C to a maximum of 26°C.

Road networks

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Education and Literacy

As at 2007, the County had 898 primary schools with a total enrolment of 358,556 pupils and a teacher to pupil ratio of 1:49. There were 334 secondary schools with a total enrolment of 25,477 and a teacher to pupil ratio of 1:36.

The county is home to two universities; the public Egerton University, an agricultural development institution established in 1934 and situated in Njoro, just 20 km from Nakuru town and the privately owned Christian based Kabarak University, also 20 kilometres from Nakuru town, on the Nakuru–Eldama Ravine road.

It has 38 other tertiary institutions among them; Rift Valley Institute of Technology, Nakuru College of Health Sciences and Management, Kenya Institute of Biomedical Sciences and Technology, Nakuru Institute of Information Communication Technology, Nakuru Counseling & Training Institute, Jogoo Commercial College, Prestige Academy and College, Superior Group of Colleges among others.

Financial Services

All the major commercial banks have branches in all the major towns of Nakuru, Naivasha, Gilgil, Njoro, Molo and Kuresoi.   


There are a total of 278 health facilities spread across the county with the flagship being the Nakuru Referral Hospital. Others are three level-4 (district), three level-3 (sub-district) hospitals, 43 level-two (Health Centres) and 115 level-ones (dispensaries) distributed within the county. Others are six maternity homes and five nursing homes as well as many privately owned facilities. The doctor to population ratio in the county is 1:31,251.

Prevalent Disease: Skin Disease, Respiratory Infections, Dental Fluorosis, HIV/Aids

Political Leadership

With the adoption of the new constitution in 2010 which ushered in the devolved system of governance, the Governor is the Executive authority in the County together with his deputy, the Senator is to represent the County at the Senate and through the affirmation of women and youth rights, the Woman Representative is to represent the County’s women and youth issues at the National Assembly.





Nakuru County has eleven (11) constituencies and 55 electoral wards. Naivasha has the highest number of wards with 8, followed by Njoro and Nakuru Town West with 6, Gilgil, Rongai and Bahati have 5 each, Molo, Kuresoi South and North 4 each while Subukia constituency has the least with 3 wards.


The major economic activities include subsistence and commercial farming, tourism, geothermal power generation, small-scale trade, dairy farming and flower farming. Agriculture is the backbone of the county’s economy with maize, beans, cowpeas, milk, beef and mutton the common produce.

Tourism contributes immensely to the county’s economy. The county is famous for Flamingoes at Lake Nakuru, a world heritage site and a popular tourist destination. The lake is surrounded by Lake Nakuru National Park, a home for lions, baboons, zebras and several bird species. It also hosts a sanctuary for white rhinos, an endangered species. Other major tourist attractions include; Menengai Crater, Hyrax Hill Anthropological Site, Hell’s Gate Park, Lake Naivasha, Longonot Crater and Lake Elementaita.

The county enjoys favourable climatic conditions with a large forest cover which is part of the mau complex, the country’s most important water catchment area and a source of streams and rivers draining to Lake Nakuru, Lake Naivasha and Lake Elementaita.

Other economic activities include geothermal energy drilling at Olkaria and Menengai crater, manufacturing and diatomite mining at Gilgil. Other minerals with potential for exploitation include; trona, kyanite, garnet, graphite, wollastonite, vermiculite, vesuvianite, kaolinite, bentonite, sepiolite, limestone muscovite, feldspar, diatomite, gypsum, sulfur and pumice.

Scroll to Top