Nyandarua County

0 +
Area Km2
County Number

Nyandarua County

Nyandarua County number 018 is located in Central Kenya and borders Laikipia County to the North and North East, Nyeri County and Murang’a County to the East, Kiambu County to the South and Nakuru County to the South West and West.


Its capital is Ol Kalou town.


Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Tourist Attractions

These are waterfalls, Lake Ol Bolossat and the Aberdare Ranges.


Temperatures range from a minimum of 2°C to a maximum of 25°C. The rainfall ranges between 700mm and 1,500mm per annum.

Road networks

The total length of all classified roads in the county is 1,055.4Km with bitumen surface covering 297.3Km, gravel surface covering 323.4Km and 434.7Km being surface.

Education and Literacy

As at 2007, the County had 471 Primary schools with an enrolment of 149,204 pupils and a teacher to pupil ratio of 1: 42 and 149 Secondary schools with an enrolment of 25,758 pupils and a teacher to pupil ratio of 1:22.

Tertiary institutions in the county are over 10 including a Teacher Training College, Technical Colleges and several commercial colleges among others.

Financial Services

4 Commercial banks and 4 micro-finance institutions serve the people. 


There are a total of 114 health facilities spread across the county. It has one level-4 hospital, one level-3 hospital, 8 level-two (Health Centres) and 55 level-ones (dispensaries) which are well distributed within the county. Other facilities are 42 medical clinics, one nursing home, 1 VCT Centre and 5 uncategorized.

Prevalent Diseases: malaria, respiratory tract infections and skin diseases.

Notable Hospitals are Nyahururu District hospital and Ol Kalou Sub-District hospital.

Political Leadership

With the adoption of the new constitution in 2010 which ushered in the devolved system of governance, the Governor is the Executive authority in the County together with his deputy, the Senator is to represent the County at the Senate and through the affirmation of women and youth rights, the Woman Representative is to represent the County’s women and youth issues at the National Assembly.





Nyandarua County has five (5) constituencies which are further divided into 25 electoral wards. Kinangop Constituency has the highest number of wards with 7, followed by Ol Kalou with 5 while Kipipiri, Ol Jorok and Ndaragwa have four each.


Agriculture is the predominant economic activity in the county characterized by high horticultural productivity involving small-scale farms. This is highly influenced by the adjacent Aberdare ranges, a rich water tower that supplies the County Rivers throughout the year with water. Agricultural produce includes maize, beans, potatoes, cabbages, peas, dairy products and fruits.

The county also practices livestock farming. This is mainly done through zero grazing. Animals reared include cattle, sheep and goats in addition to poultry and pigs.

Other economic activities include Agro-Processing, Forestry and commercial businesses. This has been boosted by the new road that passes through Ndundori, Tumaini, Ol Kalou, Wanjohi and Miharati in Nyandarua Central and Kipipiri districts, passing through Mawingu, Ndunyu Njeru and Engineer in North Kinangop and connects to the old tarmac road that runs from Fly Over area on the Nairobi-Nakuru Highway at the Njabi-ini Trading Centre in South Kinangop.

Scroll to Top