Tana River County

0 +
0 +
Area Km2
County Number

tana river

Tana River County number 005 is located in the coastal region and borders Garissa County to the North, Isiolo County to the Northwest, Lamu County to the Northeast, Kilifi County to the Southeast, Taita Taveta County to the South, and Kitui County to the West.


​Its capital is Hola town.


According to the 2009 Kenya Population and Housing Census, the population for Tana River County was 240,075 people with a population density of 6.2 people per Km2 and an annual growth rate of 3.4%. Age distribution was; 0-14 years at 50.9%, 15-64 years at 46.2% and 65+ years 2.9%.

Tourist Attractions

Tourist attractions in the County are; Tana River Primate National Game Reserve and Kora National Park.


Tana River receives annual relief rainfall varying between 400mm and 750mm with a mean annual temperature ranging between 30°C and 33°C.

Road networks

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Education and Literacy

As at 2007, the County had 136 Primary schools with an enrolment of 40,832 and a teacher to pupil ratio of 1:46.2. There were 10 Secondary schools with an enrolment of 2, 640 with a teacher to pupil ratio of 1:31.

Financial Services

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.


There are a total of 58 health facilities spread across the county. The county has 2 District Hospitals, 47 Dispensaries, 5 Health Centres and 4 Medical Clinics.

Notable Hospitals include Hola District Hospital and Ngao District Hospitals.

Prevalent Diseases: Malaria, Respiratory Tract Infections, Skin Diseases, Diarrhoea and HIV/AIDs.

Political Leadership

With the adoption of the new constitution in 2010 which ushered in the devolved system of governance, the Governor is the Executive authority in the County together with his deputy, the Senator is to represent the County at the Senate and through affirmation of women and youth rights, the Woman Representative is to represent the County’s women and youth issues at the National Assembly.





Tana River County has three (3) constituencies; Garsen, Galole and Bura. It is divided further into 15 electoral wards with Garsen having 6, Bura 5 and Galole 4 wards.


Farming and nomadic pastoralism are the main economic activities in Tana River County due to the dry conditions and erratic rainfall patterns experienced in the county.

The Tana River is a major water resource in the area. The expansive delta created by the river is characterized by wetlands, which provide grazing area during the dry season and is also a tourist attraction. The water is used for irrigation of rice, banana, maize, mangoes and soya beans.

Riverine forest, woodland, grassland, bush lands, lakes, open river channels, sand dunes, mangroves and coastal waters contribute to making Tana River County one of the most ecologically diverse habitats and a tourist attraction in the country.

The county has the potential to use its wildlife and visitor attraction assets as leverage to improve the livelihoods of its people. These assets include the rare primates and aquatic animals at the Tana Delta, beach tourism along the Indian Ocean, water sports and game fishing.

Other economic activities include mining with potential for gems such as Barite, illmenite, Iron ore, Uranium and Gypsum.

Scroll to Top