Tharaka Nithi County

0 +
Area Km2
County Number

Tharaka Nithi

Tharaka Nithi County number 013 is located in the Central region of Kenya and borders Meru County to the North and North East, Kitui County to the East and South East and Embu County to the South and South West.


Its capital is Kathanwa town.


According to the 2009 Kenya Population and Housing Census, the population for Tharaka Nithi County was 365,330 people with a population density of 138 people per Km2 and an annual growth rate of 3.0%. Age distribution was; 0-14 years at 39.1%, 15-64 years at 55.5% and 65+ years 5.3%.

Tourist Attractions

The only tourist attraction in the county is Mutejwa National Reserve.


Temperatures range from a minimum of 11°C to a maximum of 25.9°C. The rainfall ranges between 200mm and 800mm per annum.

Road networks

The total length of all classified roads in the county is 633.2Km with bitumen surface covering 152.5Km, gravel surface covering 36.4Km and 444.3Km being surface.

Education and Literacy

As at 2007, the County had 168 Primary schools with an enrolment of 40,216 and a teacher to pupil ratio of 1: 34. There were 24 Secondary schools with an enrolment of 1,085 with a teacher to pupil ratio of 1:25.

The county has several Tertiary Institutions led by Chuka University College.

Financial Services

The County has one commercial bank and one microfinance institution. 


There are a total of 88 health facilities spread across the county. The county has 3 District Hospitals, 1 Sub-District Hospital, 60 Dispensaries, 7 Health Centres, 13 Medical Clinics and four others.

Notable Hospitals include Chuka, Magutuni and Tharaka District Hospitals.

Prevalent Diseases: Malaria, Intestinal Worms, Diseases of Respiratory System.

Political Leadership

With the adoption of the new constitution in 2010 which ushered in the devolved system of governance, the Governor is the Executive authority in the County together with his deputy, the Senator is to represent the County at the Senate and through the affirmation of women and youth rights, the Woman Representative is to represent the County’s women and youth issues at the National Assembly.





Tharaka Nithi County has three (3) constituencies divided into 15 electoral wards. The Constituencies are Maara, Chuka/Igambang’ombe and Tharaka all which have 5 wards each.


Main economic activities include farming with the agricultural produce including tea, coffee, horticulture, cotton, millet, maize, sorghum, cowpeas and cassava. Pastoralism is practised with livestock being kept.

Other economic activities include mining of kaoline, sand and stone quarrying.

Scroll to Top